Statement on Tribal Partnerships

Coos Art Museum would like to convey our respect and acknowledge the First Peoples of this land, the nine federally recognized tribes of Oregon: Burns Paiute Tribe, Confederated Tribes of Coos, Lower Umpqua & Siuslaw Indians, Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde, Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians, Confederated Tribes of the Umatilla Indian Reservation, Confederated Tribes of the Warm Springs Reservation, Coquille Indian Tribe, Cow Creek Band of the Umpqua Tribe of Indians, and The Klamath Tribes.

In alignment with our broader commitment to recognizing the enduring presence and sovereignty of Indigenous peoples throughout Oregon, we at Coos Art Museum affirm our respect and gratitude toward all Indigenous communities for their ongoing resilience. We acknowledge the painful history of displacement and injustice that Indigenous peoples have faced and continue to face, and we are devoted to listening, learning, and engaging in actions that support Indigenous sovereignty and the growing of their communities and cultures.

Coos Art Museum is committed to strengthening our partnership with Indigenous peoples through respect and learning from their cultures. We aim to honor the legacy of the First Peoples by incorporating Indigenous knowledge and perspectives into our exhibitions, programs, and practices, ensuring that the art we exhibit and the stories we tell are inclusive and reflective of the ongoing connections between their people, land, and culture.

We hope to contribute to a future where the knowledge of the First Peoples culture, land, and history is respected and guides us in caring for this land and each other in the spirit of appreciation and collaboration.